should dreams become jobs???

With a seemingly incurable case of writer’s block and silence from potential employers, my summer has not been as productive as I would’ve liked it to be. However I’ve been hitting the gym, crossing books off my reading list, travelling to visit family, and studying random topics to my heart’s content. Lately, though, I have been putting off a serious responsibility (and I’m not talking about my summer reading… though I haven’t done that either). No. This responsibility requires far more brain power but much less scholarly effort. This terrible task is deemed the birthday speech.

Okay so I may be exaggerating, but I feel like Sherlock did in The Sign of Three when he had to write a best man speech! I have no idea on how to write this, much less how to deliver it to an audience of strangers at my childhood friend’s 18th birthday party.

Thankfully, I’ve responded to the situation as all stressed teenagers do: procrastination. My duties consist of reading books and scrolling through tumblr.

Whilst exploring the depths of my dashboard, I stumbled upon a post that I felt was both ground-breaking and relieving.

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 8.27.03 PM

*lol I cannot figure out how to embed this so I just took a screen shot and hyperlinked it :P*

Within the 2 minutes it took to read, this profound argument deeply altered the way I look towards my future. Like a huge slap in the face, it served as a life-changing reality check.

As much as I love La La Land and the “starving artist” archetype, JOBS ARE JOBS! You don’t have to love it, you just have to live it (and preferably like it too). It’s awesome if you end up “living the dream” by making money off of your passions, but it’s also completely okay if you don’t; in fact, it may even be better to pursue your passions independent from your job. The separation of dream and job helps keep the dream alive. Without the division, the stresses of deadlines and wages may ebb at the appeal of it.

Take my dad for example. He went through this process and was glad to be saved by a nursing degree. He wanted so badly to become a pilot when he was growing up, so my grandma made him go through nursing school concurrent with his piloting license. When the stresses of commercial piloting didn’t appeal to him, he was still more than satisfied to nurse while pilot recreationally on the side.

As my dad often says: “You should work to live. Don’t live to work.”

So maybe you don’t want to work a 9 to 5, or don’t want to work in a cubicle in front of a screen all day. But those aren’t your only alternatives to relying on your dream to yield profits.

Now. If you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a speech to write.

Leave a Reply

